Dear Mom:

Standard

Dear Mommy,

When I heard that the Lance staff would be writing Mother’s Day blogs this week, I was pretty nervous. For one thing, I’ve never been good at writing anything sentimental or personal. If you haven’t noticed, I write the same thing on every card I give you for every single holiday. I’m sure you’re tired of my annual “Happy Mother’s Day! I love you!” card. Well, I’m pretty sick of it too, so I’m going to try my best to make this post a little better.

Some mothers would probably argue that your ways of parenting weren’t always conventional, but I’m so happy that you raised me the way you did. For example, I know a lot of people criticized you for never sending me to preschool, but because I spent so much time at home with you, I now have memories that a lot of other kids my age will never have. And when your friends told you that allowing me to listen to Britney Spears when I was 2 years old was a bad idea, you never listened. Instead, by allowing me to listen to that controversial pop star, you unknowingly began my love of music, something that I don’t know what I would do without today. (I’m sure Daddy would say it was him playing Ozzy Osbourne that led me to like heavy rock music, but I’ll let you have this one.)

I know that I don’t say it enough, but I truly appreciate everything you do for our family. I don’t know how you deal with everything that’s been going on lately, but somehow you do. How you deal with two teenage daughters, a husband, four crazy cats, work, etc, is beyond me. I could never remember to do half the things you do on a daily basis. I can’t even put my clean clothes away without you reminding me fifty times. 

That’s not even to mention all of the things you do for Alyssa and I that most parents wouldn’t even consider doing for their children. You’ve gotten stuck in five hour blizzards, various thunderstorms, 100+ degree heat waves, and more just to take us to the concerts we love to go to. While I’m on the subject, thanks for sitting through all of those heavy “screamo” concerts and multiple Warped Tours where I’m sure you’d rather be anywhere else. I know most kids would cringe at the thought of their mom going to concerts with them, but I’m always happy to have you there.

Anyways, I could probably fill a book with all of the things you’ve done for our family and how much we all appreciate it, but I’ll keep it short. A simple blog post or a Mother’s Day card will never be enough to say thank you for everything you continuously do for our family. Our family may be small and have our issues, but you keep us together. I love you so much, and I’m so happy to be your daughter. Happy Mother’s Day!! (PS: I hope this blog is equivalent to Alyssa’s extravagant card that I’m sure she’s going to give you, and makes up for my lack of one…) 

Love, Amanda

Leave a Reply

